My Mother, My Self.

There are very few people who know my mother the way her family does. To the outside world, she’s this professional, successful Children’s Minister turned business woman who always faces a challenge head on with a smile, but to her family, she’s something more. She’s a spunky, enthusiastic woman who can out-cook anyone (she makes Ina Garten look like a 5 year old with an easy bake oven) and has an almost obsessive love for anything related to the Civil War and Abraham Lincoln. She’s the one who pats our cat, Gabby, on the head and starts shredding a Rotisserie Chicken for her saying, “This cat needs attention. And chicken.” She’s the one my sister and I turn to while shopping to ask, “Does this look ok?” She prides herself on being the youngest looking 50 something in her group of friends (and believe me, it’s true). She’s the matriarch of the Yancey clan; she is always cooking elaborate meals for our family and then brushing of the compliments saying, “it was easy” (my two cousins and their girlfriends are VERY appreciative of her Sunday night dinners). But lately I’ve seen a new side of my mom, a side that makes me excited to see what she’ll do next.

Since she founded a non-profit foundation, my mother has been radiating excitement. Every time she talks about her foundation, she has this glow about her that seems to spread to whoever she’s talking to. When she received the news that her foundation had been approved, she literally squeaked and danced around our kitchen. She tells stories about people who want to work with the foundation and people who want to donate to it with such enthusiasm, you end up smiling and being just as excited as she is. I’ve always known that my mom had a gift when it comes to people, but I never realized how amazing she is with having a vision and making it a reality.

It’s become more and more obvious to me how similar my mother and I are. I know for most people this thought makes them cringe and reevaluate themselves, but for me I’m trying to embrace it. Our stubborn, never-give-up attitude keeps us successful and motivated. We are both constantly looking for ways to help people. For me, it’s being the best sister that I can be to my sorority sisters. For my mom, it’s changing the lives of children and their families through the churches that her foundation supports.

The hardest part of college life isn’t the school work or juggling responsibilities. That stuff comes easy for me. The hard part is being away from my family and seeing what progress my mom is making with her new career. Lucky for me she’s always just a drive up 75.

Leave a Reply

